A Note on Turning Twenty

Last month I turned twenty years old. It feels quite significant to me and it feels more personal to me than turning 18 or 21 years old. Although I don’t feel any older, I couldn’t believe it’s the start of a new decade, and in some ways, it feels like the beginnings of significant change.

I’m not at school anymore, but instead starting my career from the ground up as an apprentice. With a thirst for travel, I’m hoping to adapt my commitments and responsibilities to help fulfill my future goals and travel plans; these may change in the next few years as anything could happen, but as long as I’m positive with the decisions I make, I shouldn’t feel any regret.

So much has happened these past few years – so many life-changing decisions have brought me to where I am today. There’s so much more I am looking forward to in the next few years too as I grow in my career and also personally from life experiences.

I made it my goal to travel on my own, right before I turned twenty. And I have achieved this by travelling alone to Japan and have learned so much about myself and the people and culture of another country. It has significantly boosted my desire to travel more and to generally do more with utilising my time too. I would admit it was an expensive trip, but as they say, travel is the only thing you can buy that makes you richer.

Time is an important thing you cannot get back so that is why I want to make the most out of it; I am trying to do so by reducing the amount of time I spend playing video games and watching TV and I am trying to increase the amount of time to read, write, learn and take up more hobbies. Though it is difficult to reduce my overall screen time because I do most of my reading and writing (blogging) activities behind a screen, and I work in Information Technology too which doesn’t make it any better.

I’ve mentioned in one of my previous posts that my productivity has boosted significantly since coming back, but I am slowly fearing that I am regressing back to my old self – of course, which I wouldn’t want. So that’s why I want to continue to do something that gets me out of my comfort zone and keep striving towards my goals.

This is my decade of immense growth, as quoted to me by another fellow blogger. I’m not feeling such change just yet but as long as I’m not falling back into old and negative habits, I should do just fine.

I wonder what I can achieve before I turn twenty-five.

Thanks for reading,

-RGS

2 thoughts on “A Note on Turning Twenty

  1. 20 is a great year to be, but don’t put so much pressure on this upcoming decade of your life to be the time of “immense growth.”

    I was/am/was? extremely stubborn and bullheaded and went through a good deal of my early 20’s thinking I knew much more than I actually did. It was a fun decade, but I feel like I’ve experienced so much more growth since turning 30 (I’m now 34) than in my entire twenties.

    I think there’s some saying like the older get the more you realize how little you know. It’s SO true. It took a while for me to really let that sink in and today I’m a million times more open to things at 34 than a decade ago at 24.

    “I’m not feeling such change yet…” That’s the thing about change. We rarely feel it hitting us like some Mac truck. I find change is felt more intensely when looking back a few years and saying, “wow, I don’t even remember that person I used to be. How did the years go by so quickly? How did I get from A to B?”

    Travel clearly had a great impact on your life. Now you need to start saving up for your next trip! Have you picked out a destination yet? Or perhaps narrowed down the field?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Turning twenty does hold some significance for me to take action and I feel I’m off to a great start with developing myself even further. I don’t feel so much pressure, but rather more of a sense of accomplishment that I can look back on in my thirties.

      Keep on learning and experiencing – that’s my aim and failure isn’t going to change that. I like your view on change and I’d love to know how much I can really change in the years to come.

      I’ve started saving intensely already! By that I mean, I hardly bought material things since coming back, only experiences such as courses. A plan is in the works for somewhere in Europe at the end of this year, so I will share it soon. :)

      Like

Leave a Reply

