Return and Reflections

Hello, I have arrived back from Japan on Thursday and I am missing it already. It’s been hard adjusting back to the slower pace of things but it is great to be back with my family and will be catching up with my friends shortly.

Now you may be wondering this…

So, how was Japan?

Japan has been absolutely incredible. The people, food, culture and history has all been great to experience and doing this journey on my own has been very empowering and rewarding. I feel a sense of accomplishment having been able to find my way around the country, manage my finances, sort out my food and activities, and adapt my plans to how I see fit. I feel that I have not only developed personally, but my views on things have definitely changed since I left: seeing the busy lives of salarymen in Tokyo, learning about the routine of a maiko, and meeting those affected by the atomic bomb in Hiroshima and Nagasaki, has only just been a glimpse of what I’ve experienced that has opened up my perspective on other people’s lives and lifestyles.

Since being back, I’m starting to notice that I feel more confident when I approach people, even if it is only a little bit. I feel more self-reliant than I ever was, having planned out the entire trip on my own. I also seem to be more patient when it comes to things and I have developed my ability to adapt for when things do go wrong. There’s been so much internal and external change to my life and I’m feeling positive about what there is to come – it just so happens that I am now planning my next trip and will reveal where nearer the time!

I’m in the midst of writing out my travel memoir that describes my first solo adventure in Japan. That’s a lie because I haven’t even started. Anyway, I’m recording the main highlights of the trip and hopefully, I can format it in the way that it is most appealing to you all. This could take a while so please be patient; there are so many stories to share with you all and I want to write it out as best as I can.

In the meantime, I also hope to post more about my experiences of solo travel – what I liked, what I didn’t like, how I planned my time and budget, how it was like to meet new people, etc. Hopefully, this can help you decide whether it’s right for you, but I am glad to be able to share my first-hand experience with you all. Details of the planning and preparation for this trip can be found in the earlier entries of this blog too, if you’re new or just wondering how I did it all from the very start.

It’s been a long journey, having posted about my travel aspirations since June 2016 and actually deciding where to go and booking my flights at the start of the New Year. It’s been such an amazing experience and I encourage you to do the same.

Well, that’s all from me. Thank you all for reading and I look forward to sharing my adventures in Japan with you soon.

Until next time,

-RGS

4 thoughts on “Return and Reflections

Leave a Reply

