Fighting Fears of Solo Travel Plans

It has been a while since my last post and since then I have thought long and hard about my solo travel plans coming next year in April/May. The main objective is to travel somewhere on my own before I reach the age of 20, as a limit such as this motivates me more to accomplish it. The hardest question that is preventing me from going ahead with my plans is: Where? It’s been a struggle choosing between Thailand (the backpacker’s starter destination), Indonesia/Malaysia (the backpacker’s unknown destination, or Japan (the backpacker’s expensive destination).

I’m leaning more towards Japan now because of all of the YouTube videos that have inspired me to pursue visiting various places and immersing myself in the Japanese culture and trying out different and wonderful types of food. It’s not a set decision just yet, but if I were to go to Japan, I really need to book flights real soon. Upon reading other posts, the best time to book flights is between 7 weeks and 12 weeks, so I am aiming to book those flights by mid-January for a price range between £400 – £500. Please let me know if this is possible for travelling in April – May. I don’t want to leave it too late, though, otherwise, I may need to delay it for after I turn 20 years old. Regrets are something I want to minimise from now on and want to draw in opportunities instead.

Now onto the main topic: the fears of my solo travel plans.

The problem is that I haven’t even made plans other than reading a bunch of solo travel blogs and watching YouTube travel videos. From what I read/watched, the best plan is no plan and I think it may be a good idea to book the flights, first night’s accommodation and plan a vague route of where I want to go in the country and for how long. Doing this will mean that I have the flexibility to change my plans in the process, but I am unsure if this is a wise decision to do for my first solo trip because of the fears of things going wrong and the inability of planning expenses in advance.

Another fear stopping me from travelling is the commitments and responsibilities I am getting, which is the main reason why I wanted to travel before it is too late. Lots of reasons are work-related as I am still in my apprenticeship programme and the second year is mainly to do with development and progress-tracking, which is important if I am to stay on for many years with the company. There’s also personal reasons such as getting my driving licence and committing more towards my role and responsibilities as an assistant scout leader.

I know I should definitely travel next April and I don’t want to make an excuse to not go, otherwise, I will regret it. With these things thrown at me, it’s difficult not to ignore and carry on with travel plans – but that’s life. It’s something I will learn a lot out of and stand by my belief to ‘work to live’ and not ‘live to work’. I need to take that first step and I think that this post does just that.

Please let me know your thoughts and advice that you want to share.

Thank you for reading and I hope to post again shortly.

-RGS

3 thoughts on “Fighting Fears of Solo Travel Plans

  1. Japan is a great place to travel solo. Japanese people are shy but really ready to help and people often come to see you if you look lost. A few Japanese words help. If you look open you can meet people.

    Like

    1. Thanks for your comment! I was actually doing a bit more research today and I am more excited about going there now. I’m definitely going to learn a few words and phrases and hopefully it will take me a long way. :)

      Like

Leave a Reply

